John R. Twiss, Jr. Award

The Twiss Award was established in honor of John R. Twiss Jr., who was the first Executive Director of the U.S. Marine Mammal Commission and is given for the best student paper published in Marine Mammal Science that describes innovative research related to marine mammal habitat and ecosystem conservation. The Twiss Award winner receives $500 and a certificate and is acknowledged at the Biennial Conference.

2019 Winner:
Guillemette Labadie
First demographic insights on historically harvested and poorly known male sperm whale populations off the Crozet and Kerguelen Islands (Southern Ocean) (Read paper.)

2017 Winner:
Briana Witteveen

Trophic niche partitioning and diet composition of sympatric fin (Balaenoptera physalus) and humpback whales (Megaptera novaeangliae) in the Gulf of Alaska revealed through stable isotope analysis (Read paper.)