EBS Award Winners 2016

The Emily B. Shane Award (EBS) supports conservation-oriented, non-harmful field research on free-ranging Odontocetes and Sirenians. The award honours Emily B. Shane (1924-1995), a fine amateur naturalist and dedicated conservationist. There were more than 30 eligible applicants for the 2016 awards and many thanks to the two review teams who assessed the proposals.

The 2016 winners are:
Shambhu Paudel

Understanding the effects of artisanal fishing on the ecology of Ganges River dolphin in Nepal






Federico Secunza
Filling a Conservation Gap: Bycatch estimates of the Franciscana dolphin in southern Brazil